Two good days in Brittany

Finistere1

I had two excellent days in Brittany, checking out the lighthouses and the coast. I watched fishing boats crawl into port after a day of work, and had an excellent dinner at a “gite,” or B&B, where our hosts, Hélène and Daniel, along with a bunch of Italians, sat down to eat with us for hours. Langostinas, which are like little crawfish, white wine, red wine, cheese, crêpes, Scotch. My room was very close to where we ate, fortunately. 

Finistere5

These stone houses are all over the part of Finistère we were in. They don’t all have thatched roofs. Most seem to have the ardoise tiles you see all over Normandy and Maine et Loire. It was a truly lovely place for a couple of days.

Finistere2

I climbed the Phare d’Eckmühl. That’s the taller of the two lighthouses you see above. I’ll post some pictures of it tomorrow.

Today I made it to Paris and am about to head out and get a falafel. It’s long past time for me. L’as du Fallafel, here I come. And maybe the Highlander Scottish Pub in the Latin Quarter after that to find some Americans to celebrate Independence Day with.

Author: anon

Writer and teacher

One thought on “Two good days in Brittany”

  1. Just wish to say your article is as astonishing. The clearness in your post is simply cool and i could
    assume you’re an expert on this subject. Well with your permission
    let me to grab your feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post.
    Thanks a million and please carry on the rewarding work.

Leave a comment