Siobhán’s first HS concert

Siobhandadbandcamp1My last post was all about me. This one’s all about my youngest, Siobhán.

She’s a great trombone player. Seriously good. She has more talent than is good for her. Tonight’s her first concert as a high school player.

She’s a freshman at McCallum High School in Austin, the arts academy in town. I would’ve loved to have gone to a school like it when I was in high school.

My school, Dwight Morrow High School in Englewood, NJ, put together some excellent bands, but it wasn’t built into the structure of the institution. With hers, it is.

I’m really looking forward to hearing it. I’m always looking forward to hearing her. She’s playing on the trombone that I played in Carnegie Hall and through Indiana University. She’s due for an upgrade, but she likes tradition.

Author: anon

Writer and teacher

Leave a comment